Australia Cup

The Australia Cup is a national knockout tournament that started 2014. It was originally known as the FFA Cup before being rebranded in 2022. It is run by Football Australia in conjunction with state member federations. 

The competition starts with preliminary rounds before 10 A-League Men's clubs join the competition from the round of 32 onwards.

The top eight A-League clubs from the previous season take part in the cup, while the bottom four A-League teams play against each other to decide which two teams join the top eight to also enter.

The Australia Cup is an exciting tournament giving member federation teams the experience of playing against A-League clubs, helping further strengthen the football community.

In northern NSW, the competition is divided into two conferences: 

  • Northern Conference
    Teams from Football Mid North Coast, Football Far North Coast, North Coast Football and NNSWF Northern Inland 
  • Southern Conference
    Teams from Hunter Valley Football, Newcastle Football, Macquarie Football and Premier Competition Teams (NPL Men's NNSW and Hit106.9 Northern League One)

Round of 32

After successful cup runs in 2023 Edgeworth FC and Broadmeadow Magic FC have qualified for the Australia Cup Round of 32. 

Match details

Broadmeadow Magic FC v Sydney United 58
Friday 4 August | 6.00PM
Magic Park
Purchase tickets here

Edgeworth FC vs Western United FC
Wednesday 9 August | 7.30PM
Jack McLaghlan Oval
Purchase tickets here

Northern NSW History

Australia Cup Past Results