Women's State Cup

The Women’s State Cup started in 2017 as a development opportunity for Women’s Premier League and community football players.

Teams play off in a three-day tournament, including NPL Women's NNSW clubs, community football teams and a NNSWF Indigenous representative team made up of Indigenous players from across northern NSW.



Friday 7 to Sunday 9 July 2023.


Lake Macquarie Regional Football Facility.


The competition is open to all for senior women’s clubs and to:

  • All Clubs being Members of NNSWF Premier Competitions.
  • All Clubs being Members of a NNSWF Zone Competition.
  • Clubs will be permitted to enter only one Team per Club.


  • Clubs will be permitted to register a maximum of twenty five (25) Players and a minimum of fourteen (14) Players for the tournament.
  • Minimum age: turning 15 in 2023. 


  • $300 per club (GST inclusive).
  • Fee covers players registration and match official fees for the tournament.


  • Northern NSW Football reserves the right to adjust or alter the tournament format as required subject to participating team numbers.
  • Similar to previous seasons the tournament will be completed over a round robin group phase followed by a Knock-out Finals Series and a play-off phase including a Community Women’s plate.


  • Registrations are closed 



History of Northern NSW Football Women's State Cup

First played in 2017, the Women’s State Cup was established as a strategic initiative in Northern NSW Football’s 2016-2019 Strategic Plan as a development opportunity for Women’s Premier League and community league players.

It was also the first step in preparing the local women’s competition to move towards a national Women’s FFA Cup as states across Australia moved to align their premier women’s competitions with the National Premier Leagues (NPL) format.

Sixteen teams participated in the inaugural competition made up of community, WPL and composite teams from regional zones. WPL club Warners Bay FC took out the inaugural title.


2018 saw Northern NSW Football announce TAFE NSW as naming rights partner for the cup which included the introduction of new awards including player of the matches for finals and a player of the tournament.

The event also included a team dinner on the Saturday night of the tournament for players to be able to network and meet on a more social basis.

2018 TAFE NSW Women’s State Cup Champions: Adamstown Rosebud JFC

Player of the Match (Semi-Final 1): Maggie Quinn - Adamstown Rosebud JFC

Player of the Match (Semi-Final 2): Sophie Milton - Wallsend FC

Player of the Series: (Final): Libby Copus-Brown - Wallsend FC


Sixteen teams took part in the TAFE NSW Women’s State Cup with the largest number of community teams participating, reflective of the ever-increasing participation levels of females playing football. To encourage and support these teams Northern NSW Football announced the introduction of the TAFE NSW Community Plate.

The TAFE NSW Community Plate was contested by the best performing community teams during the tournament which did not progress to the finals.

Events like this provide more chances for women to enjoy football and move towards ensuring that opportunities for females reflect those available to male players.


The Women’s State Cup was cancelled in 2020 due to COVID-19.


In 2021 Maitland FC celebrated its inaugural season defeating Newcastle Olympic FC in the final to be crowned Women’s State Cup champions.


The 2022 Women's State Cup saw the entry of a NNSWF Indigenous representative team into the competition. The team was made up of talented players from clubs across the region. 

The final was a tightly contested match between defending champions Maitland FC and Charlestown Azzurri FC in testing weather conditions, with Charlestown Azzurri FC crowned champions. 

Cassie Corder was named player of the final. 

In the Women's State Cup Community Plate final it was Urunga FC taking the honours over Cooks Hill United FC. 

Women's State Cup champions:

2017 – Warners Bay FC

2018 – Adamstown Rosebud JFC

2019 – Wallsend FC

2020 – Cancelled due to COVID-19

2021 – Maitland FC

2022 - Charlestown Azzurri FC

2023 - Maitland FC