2023 NAIDOC Cup squads announced

Northern NSW Football has named its squads for the 2023 NAIDOC Cup.

The NAIDOC Cup is a unique opportunity for First Nations footballers to showcase their skills, connect with other players and celebrate country, culture and language. 

A total of 63 First Nations players aged between 12-16 and eight First Nations coaches will be part of this exciting tournament. It is a great way to bring the community together and create engagement with the event, with one male and one female match against Football New South Wales at Valentine Sports Park, Glenwood between Monday 3 July and Wednesday 5 July.

"We're incredibly excited about this opportunity to celebrate Indigenous culture and showcase the talent of First Nations players from across the state. This is a fantastic chance for young players to develop their skills, learn from experienced coaches and connect with other First Nations players," NNSWF Indigenous Reference Group spokesperson Mick Hugo said. 
Last year's NAIDOC Cup was held on Awabakal land at the Lake Macquarie Regional Football Facility, where NNSWF fell short against their stronger opponent, Football NSW. However, this year's Northern NSW teams are determined to balance the ledger and come out on top. 

Football NSW downed Northern NSW Football 4-3 in the girls' match, while Football NSW ran out 10-0 winners over Northern NSW Football in the boys' match.  

With a renewed focus and commitment to excellence, Northern NSW Football's First Nations players are ready to take on their opponents and secure a win at this year's NAIDOC Cup. 

This event is not just about football, it is about creating an inclusive community that recognises and celebrates Indigenous culture. The NAIDOC Cup is an opportunity for First Nations players to experience their culture and showcase their skills on a big stage. 

Northern NSW Football is committed to promoting Indigenous participation in football and the NAIDOC Cup is just one of the many initiatives they are involved in. Stay tuned for more updates and join us in supporting our First Nations players as they represent Northern NSW at this year's NAIDOC Cup. 

NNSWF 14s Girls

Abby Hobby (Adamstown Rosebud JFC), Alysha Langford (Broadmeadow Magic), Ayanna Moore (New Lambton FC), Breanna Ford (New Lambton FC), Emily Moncrieff (Kahibah FC), Hallei McGregor (Maitland FC), Keira McCowan (Lennox Head FC), Layli Schubert (Mid Coast FC), Lola Deal (Tilligerry United FC), Marnee Walters (Gunnedah & District SC), Miah Goswell-Cook (Port Macquarie United FC), Miley Smith (Hilvue Rovers FC), Myka Deal (Warners Bay FC), Shona Bennis (Broadmeadow Magic), Taylea Brown (South Cardiff FC), Tynai Meyenn (Iona FC). Coaches Aleshia Lyons and Laura Bradford.

NNSWF 14s Boys

Archie Kellett (Lambton Jaffas), Ashtyn Ferguson (Edgeworth FC), Chase McFayden (Newcastle Jets), Corey Morrison (West Wallsend SFC), Jack Hannah (South Cardiff FC), Jaxan Cambridge (Edgeworth FC), Joshua Bates (Singleton Strikers), Keith Croese (Thornton Redbacks FC), Lachlan Blayden (Edgeworth FC), Levi Van Haren (Newcastle Jets), Nash Syron (Newcastle Olympic), Rylan Short (Tamworth FC), Vinnie Hall (North Coast Football), Xavier Cook (Weston Workers FC), Yarraan Mason (Edgeworth FC), Zac Swain (North Coast Football). Coaches Jamie Archibald and Mat Moncrieff

NNSWF 16s Girls

Aaliyah Kilroy (Newcastle Jets), Addison Thomas (Mayfield United JSFC), Amelia Carr (Maitland JFC), Charlie Deacon (Warners Bay FC), Daisie Bursill (Maitland FC), Indiana Bridge (Maitland FC), Janali Haynes (Garden Suburb SC), Jonnie-Bree Gore (Mid Coast FC), Kalani Ryan (Newcastle Olympic), Kealah Boldery (New Lambton FC), Lara Turner (Adamstown Rosebud JFC), Matilda Ungaro (Charlestown Azzurri), Peyton Hamilton-Vosilla (Maitland FC), Ruby Jones (Warners Bay FC), Tallon Convery (Newcastle Jets). Coaches Mick Hugo and Nadine Page.  

NNSWF 16s Boys

Bailey Johnson (South Cardiff FC), Bailey Hunter (Thornton Redbacks FC), Dwayne Page (South Wallsend JSC, Harper Collins-Fry (Charlestown Azzurri), Jakoby Hunter (Maitland FC), James Semmens (Mid Coast FC), Kaiden Boldery (New Lambton FC), Konen Smith (Lambton Jaffas), Matthew Bates (Singleton Strikers), Max Cavanagh (Adamstown Rosebud FC), Oslo Harradine (Valentine FC), Quinn Archibald (Port Macquarie United), Taj Seymour (Weston Workers FC), Toby McGuiggan (Maitland FC), Trey Smith (South Cardiff FC), Ty Stoker (Edgeworth FC). Coaches Craig Stoker and Dylan Hugo.  

The inaugural NAIDOC Cup was hosted at the Lake Macquarie Regional Football Facility in July 2022 and consisted of one representative female and male match between NNSWF and FNSW.

NNSWF congratulates all players and coaches on their selections and wishes them all the best for the 2023 tournament.

This web story is supported by the NSW Government under the NSW Football Legacy Program.