Heritage Cup

Heritage Cup

The Heritage Cup began in 2017 to celebrate the rich history of football in the Hunter region, which dates back to 1884. 

The concept was initially proposed by FOX Sports personality Andy Harper as a way to acknowledge the clubs that have stood the test of time. 

Clubs that have been in operation for at least 100 consecutive years are invited to participate. Those clubs are:

  • Adamstown Rosebud FC
  • Cessnock City Hornets FC 
  • Edgeworth Eagles FC
  • Lake Macquarie City FC 
  • West Wallsend SFC 
  • Weston Workers FC. 

Plattsburg Maryland FC has also been invited to participate, representing the area where the region’s first football club, the Minmi Rangers was formed in 1884.

These clubs have helped to shape the game of football to be what it is today. These clubs were often miners who walked out of the pits, and onto a roughshod field to kick a ball around with their mates for recreation. 

Their strength of character, love of the game and persistence are traits carried through to players of today. The Heritage Cup is our opportunity to acknowledge the significance of the early years and clubs from our region. 

In 2020, the Heritage Cup also introduced the Heritage Plate. The final day of competition sees the two highest-placed community teams battle it out for the Plate.


2020 Heritage Cup Winners

Edgeworth FC 4 (Cawley,  Jackson, Rose, Fabrizio) claimed the win over Adamstown Rosebud FC 1 (Frendo) at West Wallsend’s, Johnston Park.

2020 Heritage Plate Winners

Merewether Advance SFC were crowned the inaugural Heritage Plate champions, with a 3-2 victory over Minmi Wanderers FC.

2019 Heritage Cup Winners

Edgeworth Eagles FC 2 (Atayde x2) claimed the win over Lake Macquarie City FC 0 at Weston's Rockwell Automation Park.

2018 Heritage Cup Winners

Weston Bears 0 drew Edgeworth Eagles 0. Weston went on to claim the win 4-3 on penalties at Edgeworth's Jack McLaughlan Oval.

2017 Heritage Cup Winners

Edgeworth Eagles 1 (Hammel) drew Adamstown Rosebud 1 (Tannock). Rosebud went on to claim the win 3-2 on penalties at Lake Macquarie Regional Football Facility.