NNSWF senior referees recognised at their night of nights

With the support of the NNSW State League Football Referees, Northern NSW Football hosted the 2023 Senior Referee Awards Evening on Saturday evening. 

The event celebrated the refereeing success and achievements of those referees who officiate on the NNSWF Premier Competitions and the Zone Football League Competitions. 

NNSWF Chairman Mike Parsons, CEO of Newcastle Football Russell Henry and the 2023 Premier Referees’ Fitness Trainer, Logan Stanley, were among more than 70 people at the South Newcastle Leagues Club to celebrate the night of nights for referees in the area.  

Hayden Langholz took home the Level One Referee of the Year Award, while Lucy Hungerford received the Female Referee of the Year Award.

Chairman of the NNSWF Match Official Standing Committee and President of NNSW State League Football Referees, Neil Jones, was presented with an award to acknowledge 50 years of involvement in refereeing.

NNSWF Referee Manager, Brad Carlin, congratulated the winners and thanked everyone for an outstanding season.

“Just as players strive to win individual awards as well as enjoy success for their teams, so do match officials. It is essential that high performances and distinguished service by referees is appropriately acknowledged” Carlin said.

“I’d like to thank all our referees, assessors and instructors who contributed to another successful season and congratulate all our award winners. We are looking forward to further refereeing success in 2024.” 

Award Recipients: 

Senior Referee Award Night Winners:  
Level One Referee of the Year: Hayden Langholz 
Level Two Referee of the Year: Charlie O’Bryan 
Level Three Referee of the Year: Flynn Cope 
Female Referee of the Year: Lucy Hungerford 
Assistant Referee of the Year: Riley Kirkaldy 
Zone League Referee of the Year: Jason King 
Rookie Referee of the Year: Darren Grubb 
Most Improved Referee of the Year: Michael Shen 
Fitness Trainer’s Award: Sam Stewart 
Moncrieff Fabrications Award: Mark Carter 
President’s Award: Alicia Guest

Milestone Achievement Award Winners:
50 NPLM First Grade Matches – Referee: Callan Stammer 
50 NPLM First Grade Matches – Assistant Referee: Robert Taylor 
500 Zone League First Grade Matches – Referee or Assistant Referee: Doug Lorrie

Football Australia National Tournament Match Officials:
National Youth Championships for Boys: Hayden Langholz 
National Youth Championships for Boys: Charlie O’Bryan 
National Youth Championships for Boys: Lewis Rooney 
National Youth Championships for Girls: Sam Stewart 
National Training Challenge for Girls: Samantha Newell

Van Egmond Jennings Medal Award Winners: 
Male Referee of the Year: Cameron Burns  
Female Referee of the Year: Samantha Newell  
Young Referee of the Year: Sam Stewart  
Zone League Referee of the Year: Peter Guest